Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
Inmate, at the jail on drug charges, was being transferred to the cell when he refused to enter it
Updated On: Jul 16, 2014

By Kevin Rector
The Baltimore Sun

BALTIMORE — Two corrections officers at the Baltimore City Detention Center were injured shortly after noon on Wednesday when a detainee refused to enter his cell and a struggle ensued, the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services said.

The inmate, at the jail on drug charges, was being transferred to the cell when he refused to enter it, according to Rick Binetti, a department spokesman.

As the two male officers began trying to subdue the inmate, both received minor injuries, Binetti said. Both were transported to Mercy Hospital by corrections officials as a precautionary measure only, Binetti said.

No other inmates were involved, and the assault does not appear to have been premeditated, officials said. The incident is under investigation.

The jail has been the site of increased security measures following the federal indictment in April of 13 corrections officers and nearly a dozen inmates on charges of operating a drug smuggling and racketeering enterprise out of the facility.

The corrections department has also been under heavy scrutiny lately from the union that represents corrections officers because of 15 inmate-on-officer assaults that have occurred at the North Branch Correctional Institution in Cumberland since the end of June.

McClatchy-Tribune News Service

In one of those assaults, which occurred Monday, an officer was stabbed after having been threatened by an inmate earlier. The officer was not aware of the threat, but corrections officials were, and an investigation is underway to determine why the officer wasn't warned.

<< September 2018 >>
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Member Login


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
TCSOA Board of Directors 2018
Christina Dail
Vice President
Michael Shumard
Michael Pietrowski
Audrey Segura
Place 1
Dorsey Allen
Place 2  
Michael Tobias
Place 3
Place 4
Ashley Miller
Place 5
Felicia Cabral
Political Action Chair
Darnell Dail

This website and its content is copyright of TCSOA © 2018, All Rights Reserved. DISCLAIMER

Powered By UnionActive™

226021 hits since Apr 01, 2011